What can I do?

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by girl7, Dec 27, 2015.

1. girl7

girl7 New Member

Hi everyone, I'm new at this.
    So I am a girl, I'm 16, and I know I like women. I am the youngest child of my family.
    The problem is that my family is very homophobic, they always say mean things about the LGBT community, they call them the equivalent of "faggot" and "dyke" in my language all the time. My dad even told me once that he would put all of the gays in an island, far from cities. And it's not just him, my brothers, sisters, mom, aunts, uncles, granparents, all of them are homophobic, or at least all of them always talk about them with disgust and intolerance.
    Coming back to my story, I guess I have always known, but it really hit me when I had my first strong crush, when I was like 12 or 13. And I am (or was) very close to my mom, and I started telling her how I felt about this girl, and she said "You think you are gay?" with such disgust, and I was just frozen, and then my mom left the room. And since then she always pretends like she forgot that conversation and always says mean things about the LGBT community in front of me. And if she reacted like that, how the hell is my father going to react? Or the rest of my "opus dei" family?
    Besides all of this, my friends does not support gay people, and I only have two friends, that are not even my best friends, that I feel like would support me, but idk.
    What can I do? Will I lose my family for being who I am?

2. Eloise

Eloise Well-Known Member