Telling me to back off or just PDA?

Discussion in 'Relationships' started by Love*Cali, Apr 8, 2014.

1. Love*Cali

Love*Cali Well-Known Member

I work as a server. I had a lesbian couple yesterday. They were cuddling and sitting close throughout their time there. However, just as I was approaching their table with their drinks, one of them saw me - had looked directly up at me- and turned, on cue, to kiss her girlfriend tenderly. The fact that she made eye contact just before choosing to do it, and did it when she knew I'd be there at the table, made it intentional. It was not a full on make out; it was a 3 second kiss.

The impression I had was that she was letting her partner know she wasn't into me or she was trying to show me that they were both taken and that I should not try hitting on them. Frankly, I was just doing my job and had no interest in either of them (though I am bisexual). I was not chatty or particularly full of smiles. There should have been no reason for them to think I wanted them. It was awkward because I felt the need to show I was just a friendly server and had no intentions of intruding. And of course, it's always awkward to have a couple start kissing in front of you.

I had a heterosexual couple do this in the past as well. I was approaching -only about 2 feet away so far- and the woman looked up at me and then turned to kiss the guy she was with. Obviously it could have waited until I was gone 30 seconds later. The eye contact -the recognition that I am there- makes it clearly intentional.

Can you try to give some explanation as to why some couples do this? Do they do it because they think I'm going to try hitting on them or their partner?

2. Raiden

Raiden Well-Known Member