Strap On Tips?

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by ThoughtsAnonymous, Feb 23, 2016.

1. ThoughtsAnonymous

Hi all!
    It's been quite a long time since I've been on here, and now that I'm seeing a lovely woman, I've come here for some sage advice from the best! Neither of us has used a strap on, and aside from being nervous performance wise, I'm not sure what would be best to invest in. I've looked into the RodeOh and some other things, but are those the best hygienically, especially if the harness is being shared? Are there harnesses that are more "one size fits all" that any of you prefer? I'm a bit curvier than my partner in crime and need to keep this in mind.

I've read that condoms should be used and changed for each person the strap on is being used on--will the lube damage certain dildos? I couldn't find what kind of base is used for condoms in the little internet research I have done so far.

I'm also a college student, so the more affordable, the better! But of course, if you think that a certain product is worth the price, I will definitely consider it!
    Thanks so much!
    TA

2. lorienczhiu

lorienczhiu Well-Known Member

Well, you can wash it in between uses. It's as hygenic as wearing each other's underwear if you share it without washing in between, because that is basically what it is. Generally, if you are concerned about fluid exchange, you should not be sharing toys in a single sitting (so to speak).

Both your harness and your dildos should be washed thoroughly (soap and water) between uses, My wife and I don't use condoms (we've been each other's only partners for literally years, and have both been tested before that), but safer sex does mean changing a condom between use on different partners or between vaginal and anal use.