Should I Move Out?

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by thecrazymango, Nov 17, 2013.

1. thecrazymango

thecrazymango Member

Hi Everyone!

It's been awhile since I've posted on this but I guess I don't know where to turn to and hopefully you can give me some advice. My girlfriend and I have been together for almost 2 years and we have an 11 year age gap. I am 26 and she is 37. I live at home with my parents. I am a part-time student, completing courses so I can apply to grad school, I have a part-time job and no undergraduate dept. I have come to realize that my mom basically runs my life. I tell myself all the time that she doesnt have complete control over me because I dont have a curfew and can go out whenever I want, etc. but her one rule is that I cant stay the night at my girlfriends place. She isnt too keen about me being gay. Here's the thing... my girlfriend hates it. She's been patient with me for the past 2 years and it's taking its toll. I spend the night maybe once or twice a month at best and it's ruining our relationship. It's not even about the sex but the company you're suppose to share when you're with someone. Th comfort. She hates that I dont have complete control over my life and I guess I never really saw it until now. So my question is, should I move out? Let me give you a Suze Orman breakdown:

From my part-time job, I make about $800-$1000 a month depending on the number of hours my work schedules me.
    My car is paid for and I have no school dept.
    I can most likely share a room or have my own room for $350-$450 a month.