In love with a good friend

Discussion in 'Relationships' started by Fdhmtrent, Jan 6, 2015.

1. Fdhmtrent

Fdhmtrent New Member

This is my first time writing something like this so please forgive any faux pas and thanks for reading!

I've been friends with a woman for quite some time. She and I met at uni years ago and have been pretty good friends. We both have been in and out or relationships during this time, but nothing ever happened.

The last few years we've been out of touch, busy in our professional lives and relationships. We've recently been reacquainted and have been hanging out a little more...and she just got out of a long term relationship.

I think I have always had some feelings for her, but they have shifted recently and they have really been hitting me over the head. I can't stop thinking about her and want to make her feel better with everything that she is going through. It's crazy because I can envision having kids with her and to be blunt, that's not something I've really ever considered with anyone I've been in a relationship with so far (though that could just be part of an overall feeling that I wasn't ready for that just yet and have started shifting as I've gotten older).

I would never do anything so soon after her break-up, but I'm wondering if I should give her a hint eventually as to how I'm feeling. I like to get everything out in the open and be honest about what is going on.