Hey from PA :)

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by rawr_balrog, Mar 25, 2016.

1. rawr_balrog

rawr_balrog Member

Hey everybody!

I'm a 28 year old writer from the Philly area. I'm not great at meeting new people in real life, so I thought I'd give this a shot.

Jane Doe and Anetra like this.
  2. Gyldenragg

Gyldenragg Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome to AE! :) There are definitely some awesome people on here so don't hesitate to post or reach out to others!
    You got me curious though, what kind of stuff do you write?

3. Cate94

Cate94 Member

Hey I'm new on here too! Welcome:)
    Hope we can learn some cool stuff and meet some great people!

4. rawr_balrog

rawr_balrog Member

Thanks! Everyone certainly seems very welcoming.

I write mostly speculative fiction and occasionally literary or mainstream. I want to be a novelist, but lately I've been working on short stories because they're easier to workshop, so I can improve my writing more quickly. (I'm a member of a fiction workshop at my local library, which comprises like 90% of my social life lol)

Anetra likes this.
  5. rawr_balrog

rawr_balrog Member

Thanks! Welcome to you, too! Everyone seems really nice so far, which is encouraging.

6. Gyldenragg

Libraries are the best though! I spent so much time at my local library growing up and befriended all the librarians. We'd always end up in deep and lengthy discussions about this book or that book - much to the entertainment of those around I think ;p Now I always check out at least one bookstore or library in every new place I travel to. :) It's the most zen type of place I know of.

So what kind of genre(s) within speculative fiction do you like writing? Oh, and if you had to select a few of your favorite books, which ones would you pick? (Haha, I know...I hate that question myself because of the sheer impossibility of it but I still ask it).

7. Bluenote

Bluenote Well-Known Member