Closet Case or Fraud?

Discussion in 'Relationships' started by ByDesign, May 24, 2016.

1. ByDesign

ByDesign New Member

Greetings! This is my first time posting and I will try to keep it short.

I was in a relationship for about 10 years, we lived together 6. She never wanted to be honest about our relationship because of her fears, parents, friends, etc.She'd claim she would try to come to terms with her issues, but never really tried. I was ready to go public before she was, but I gave her a couple or three years before I'd had enough. I was tired of living by deflection and omission. I felt like we were living together at home and living separate lives elsewhere.

So I forced a break up because I couldn't deal with stifling our relationship and keeping up the charade. (Really how much of a charade was it when we were living together for years). We stopped living together. I felt saddened, but relieved and worked to move forward (including therapy). Over the next year, she would try to contact me, but I told her we couldn't be together if she wasn't ready. We barely talked. We had a conversation last year and I even encouraged her to try dating men since she was so scared of being with a woman. (I knew she dated men in high school and college). She said she didn't want to be with anyone else, male or female. She asked me not to date while she figured things out. I told her I couldn't make any promises, but that I would tell her if anything became serious.