Am I being Really shallow?

Discussion in 'Relationships' started by reg, Jan 30, 2015.

1. reg

reg New Member

So its my first time posting on After Ellen, though I've followed the site for years. And I have a feeling I'm about to make myself very unpopular. But I am in desperate need of advice so I thought I'd ask anyways.
    A little background... I've been in a long term relationship for the last 4 years, we met online and immediately hit it off personality wise. At the time I remember being a little concerned about her being overweight, not so much from a appearance point of view but because I am expremely active and always pictured enjoying my passion for activity with my significant other. However We REALLY clicked in every other aspect and I wasn't un-attracted to her because of her weight. She also regularly spoke of her goal to lose weight and be more active so she could join me on some of my activities. This of course was all without me pushing her, although I did encourage her when she spoke of losing weight and offered any help I could.

Soon the relationship began to get more serious and we did eventually meet. It did take a while as we were quite a long distance from each other. By this stage I was head of heels in Love with her and although slightly unsure whether I found her attractive physically, I knew it was mostly only to do with her being overweight and thought that as she lost weight that would no longer be a problem.

So four years on and we moved closer together about 2 years ago, after getting to know each other better and dating exclusively in all that time. We're going to be moving in together next month. I Still love her to pieces, she's my best friend and I love everything about her EXCEPT... that rather than losing weight she's put more on.

And I don't know what to do or even how to approach the topic with her.