Who pays?

Discussion in 'General Advice' started by excentryke, Apr 13, 2017.

1. excentryke

excentryke Member

I'm a little new to dating women I haven't known for a long time, but I just met this woman and we're going out on a first date. Who pays? Do we split it? Is it the oldest? The person who first asked the other out? Do we play it by ear?

General advice would be definitely appreciated...

Eve

2. T.S.

T.S. Member

It varies per woman.

If you asked me like that before the date (before or during the check comes, or even after) then I would explain it to you what I would feel comfortable with. What you said has something cute and romantic, and I would find it endearing and would appreciate that you were concerned about etiquette.

A safe and acceptable way can be to split the check. That way there is no obligation, but it is also open to a possible future. Then as second date comes around, you can treat her, or she you, exchanging turns, depends a bit on who earns more and who takes care of the household for example.

If you just want to get out of there, you can pay the check.

Alternatively if it is a nice date that lasts longer, you can take turns.

She could offer to pay as a romantic gesture, but there may be a sexual undertone, of course that can be fine if you feel that way. You can always make up for it by making breakfast the next morning, and/ or tidying up around their house, while respecting privacy boundaries. That can go the other way of course.

Depends also a bit on how expensive the date is, and if she or you can afford that. You (both) could accomodate for that by planning a date that is within your budget.

If she is strongly hinting that you should pay in a matter of fact way then she cares too much about money and is using you, you could go for pro quid quo, expect nothing, or move on.